Gluten Sensitivity

What is Gluten?

 

Gluten is a sticky protein that is found in wheat, spelt, kamut, barley and rye. It has been increased in commercial wheat crops due to breeding and genetic modification. Gluten is not the only component of wheat that can create allergic responses, but it is the most common one. A sensitivity to any food indicates a need to work on your gut health, heal your gut lining, and decrease inflammation so you may eventually re-introduce foods you are currently avoiding. Some people who react to gluten will also cross react to other foods such as oats, corn, millet, coffee and dairy products. You don’t need to avoid these unless your doctor specifically tells you to. However, if you notice improvement on a wheat/gluten free regime, but still experience some symptoms, you may try avoiding other potential offenders. Keep a record of your observations to share with your doctor.

 

Less obvious/hidden sources of gluten may include:

 

  • Alcohol made from grains
  • Bouillon cubes or powder
  • Canned meats and veggies
  • Chewing gum
  • Horseradish, ketchup, mustard, salad dressings and other condiments
  • Instant hot or cold drinks
  • MSG
  • Sausages
  • Soups
  • and many more!

 

What can I do?

 

Since modern diets are carbohydrate heavy, it is better to substitute vegetables, nuts, legumes and lean meats in place of gluten. We understand how difficult dietary changes can be. Please call or email us with any questions or concerns!

MAKE SIGNIFICANT STRIDES IN YOUR HEALTH AND WELL-BEING TODAY